Sheer Giggles

Our day started with something off of our summer bucket list…..going out to eat for breakfast, specifically donut breakfast. We headed over to Palenque Coffee House (Doomsday Donuts). I let the boys order their own milk and they picked out their own specialty donuts from the case. Charlie has his daddy’s taste in sweets and went for the peanut butter cup donut, I had the strawberry shortcake donut and Adam surprised us, and even the lady at the counter. Adam ordered the tiniest donut they had, a blueberry lemon cake donut with white frosting.

2013-07-23 07.38.322013-07-23 07.38.43

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After our extremely nutritious, and “tasty and delicious” (per Sir Adam), we headed to K-Mart to stock up on some random goods for different activities for the rest of the summer. Our cart was stocked with pool noodles, a hula hoop, shaving cream, a plastic shower curtain liner, balloons,  shower caps, army men, solo cups, paper plates, and a few other odds and ends. The boys were not happy with me that we weren’t going home after this to see what I had planned. Instead I made Charlie go to swimming lessons, to take care of the garden, and a quick stop at the grocery store.

By the time we got home, the anticipation had grown. They were antsy and wanted to know what we were going to do. I turned them loose outside and they built a construction site, begging the entire time to know what I had planned. I grabbed the plastic shower liner, the sunscreen, and a bottle of shaving cream. Thank you Pinterest for making me the cool mom! Next time, I will find something to stake this down with. I’d also find a larger liner or piece of plastic and add a second can of shaving cream right away, but I digress.

2013-07-23 12.11.01

 

I told the boys to strip to their undies and they were in complete and utter shock. They couldn’t seem to fathom that I was actually telling them it was okay to be in their skivvies outside. Once they finally got past the giggles of me saying undies (it’s a forbidden word in our house), they had to me sunscreen them up. Now the whole time, they are staring at the plastic and questioning me. Finally, I set them free. They took running starts and the mass amounts of giggles started. For a little over an hour, and a cost of $4, they were occupied and having a blast. I have great video of them that I need to try and post later.

2013-07-23 12.28.43

 

The boys have asked when they get to do that again and refused to stop talking about it to their dad and grandpa last night. Shaving cream slide will definitely be happening again.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

