Garden Fresh

A whole lot of deliciousness came out of my garden yesterday. Apparently, this heat wave we’ve been having is helping to make an amazing harvest. Yes, that is an entire bushel basket of a variety of lettuce. I never thought I’d be tired of seeing it. It’s been this way for a month now. At least it’s forcing me to eat a salad every day.

1073844_10151722632945743_223892789_o

This is the rest of my garden harvest from yesterday. Just a zucchini, some broccoli, cabbage, a few carrots, a pile of beans, parsley, basil, a purple kohlrabi, and a few cucumbers. Yum! Charlie has decided that he likes to try stuff right out of the garden and has decided his new favorite snack is cucumbers and carrots.

1073083_10151722632805743_1643857715_o

Now, I had to figured out what I was going to do with really my first real harvest of the season. We had taken steaks out for dinner so I decided that Pinterest was going to help me out on the rest. I had to take into consideration that I already had in the fridge: zucchini, cabbage, lettuce, beans, broccoli, and basil.

What we ended up with for dinner:

  • Grilled Rib Steaks (from the local fair cow we purchase every August)
  • Parmesan Green Beans (sauteed in Smoky Bacon Oil from Wildtree, with Garlic Galore seasonsing from Wildtree and fresh grated Parmesan Cheese)
  • Buttered Zucchini Noodles (I used a vegetable peeler on my zucchini to make the noodles, sauteed them in evoo for a few minutes and then added butter, a little lemon juice and small garlic)
  • Grilled Cabbage
  • Sauteed Mushrooms
  • Cottage Cheese
  • Peaches with vanilla ice cream for dessert

So delicious! The only thing missing was some homemade, grilled artisan bread. But, I totally spaced that I didn’t have any left. Grilled bread is one of our favorite sides ever. Next step is figuring out the next few days to make sure we use everything up or I need to start canning and freezing.

Leave a Reply

