New Addictions

Imagine being at home and desperately wanting something to eat that you don’t have. Do you

  • A – Get up and head to the store for that one item immediately
  • B – Head to the store the following day or next time you run errands for the item
  • C – Make it from scratch
  • D – Forget about it?

I used to be one who would wait until going to the store the next time and if I still had that craving, I’d pick up whatever I had wanted previously. Lately, that’s changed. I just make it from scratch. Like the mayo I needed for tuna salad (normally not a fan, but had a weird craving last week for tuna). I broke out my Homemade Snacks and Staples book and found the mayo recipe. I had all the ingredients on hand: egg yolks, canola oil, water, dijon mustard. I whisked my egg yolks, water and mustard together. Ever so slowly, I whisked in my canola oil and marveled at the texture and smell of the mayo as I was whisking. Then, with my oil dissolved into the mixture, I tasted it. I fell in love. I will NEVER buy store bought mayo again. Not a chance. Five minutes to prepare one of the most delicious foods I’ve ever tasted. If it didn’t gross my husband out, I’d eat it by the spoonful and on everything else I eat as well.

Also, I may be more than a little concerned that it’s really only a few ingredients and that I’m supposed to eat it within a week and yet the stuff that sits on the shelves at the store lasts for months. Eww. Just eww. How many preservatives and other food additives are in it to keep it shelf stable that long when it’s egg yolks?

Please, I beg of you. Put away the Hellman’s. Throw it out. Try this. Just try it. Once. That’s all I’m asking.

On a side note: the basil jelly that I made the other week is absolutely wonderful over cream cheese on a piece of toast. This might be my new favorite jelly. Who would have thought that I would fall in love with both new food choices?

Leave a Reply

