Whole Foods Dinner….almost

Last night, we had a breakthrough. Steve looked at the dinner table and was pleasantly surprised that I had made everything on the table except for the hamburger buns & the ketchup. I appreciated that he was very proud of me and thankful for what I can do in the kitchen. He knows that I care about what the family is eating and tries everything I make. My husband is a pretty picky eater, so to know that he trusts my judgement and my cooking skills and not only eats, but enjoys everything is something I’m pretty proud of.

Now, I am totally aware that I can make both of the burger buns and the ketchup. Actually, I have wonderful recipes for both. However, I feel the need to finish up the bottle of Heinz Simply Ketchup (give me some credit for not super processed) and not waste food. As far as the burger buns, I really just didn’t leave myself enough time to make them.

On our table: grass-fed beef burgers seasoned with Wildtree spices, lettuce from our garden, roma tomatoes, radishes from the garden, homemade lemon vinaigrette dressing (Homemade Snacks & Staples), homemade chili barbecue sauce (Put ‘Em Up canning book), homemade guacamole & tortilla chips (Homemade Snacks & Staples), kohlrabi (from the garden) ‘fries’ seasoned with Wildtree oil and spices, homemade applesauce. So delicious! The boys devoured the kohlrabi fries and tortilla chips. Not so much the guacamole. To be honest, Charlie did try it, and gagged. BUT, he tried it. Willingly. It took Steve 31 years to try guacamole. So, I’m thinking I’m doing okay with the boys.

Dessert was made just for Steve and the boys. One of Steve’s favorite things is Reese’s peanut butter cups. He can’t get enough of them. He had a major sweet tooth yesterday and I haven’t been keeping much in the house. I turned to Pinterest. Duh. Steve saw that I just recently pinned homemade peanut butter cups and just about died. Luckily, I had everything I needed on hand to try these out. The recipe only made eight, so I tripled the recipe and figured I could freeze them without an issue. And, if I only made eight, I’d never see a bite of one! These were a super easy, no bake dessert. Perfect for summer. When I finished them and they had set, my three boys gathered in the kitchen and fell in love with the dessert and with me. They’ve polished off nine in a little over twelve hours and that includes us sleeping during that time. Hence the reason I tripled the recipe.

The dessert was filled with sugar, processed peanut butter and graham crackers. Next time, I think I can use my own homemade graham crackers, and peanut butter. I’m going to try and swap the sugar with something else. I have to work on what sugars I can replace with regular sugar in my baking.

On a side note, next week we will be bottling the beer that Steve made the other week with the boys. Super excited for a good home-brewed beer!

Leave a Reply

