Guess who’s back, Guess who’s back, Guess who’s back… la la la

Yes, thank you Eminem for my blog title. I’m not an avid listener, but for whatever reason this song lyric stuck in my head for a great title.

For anyone who read my professional blog (Creating an Education Nirvana) yesterday, you understand why I’m back. If you haven’t read it, please go check it out.

I’ve debating on how to restart my personal blog. Do I dive right in to content or do a recap of the last year? Recap seems the most fitting for now.

The last year has brought about many changes for my family. We’ll start with the kids. It’s hard to believe that they are now five and three!

Charlie attended 4K last year in FDL. The growth he made in his first educational placement was amazing! I couldn’t be more proud of him. He had mastered everything on his report card by the end of the year and is good shape to start kindergarten this fall. Charlie will be attending Journey Charter School in Ripon in the fall. We couldn’t be more excited that he’ll be in a project based learning school and be hands on all day. Last summer, Charlie and I started reading kids chapter books together. He LOVES to sit and listen and has really gotten interested in finding words he knows (he knows about four sight words right now). We’ve read about 23 chapter books in the past year.
Some of his favorites: Secrets of Droon series, Magic Tree House series, Dragon Academy series,

2013-05-18 10.38.11Charlotte’s Web, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory to name a few.  He really enjoys helping me in the kitchen and cooking from scratch. He thinks everything tastes better from scratch and does get mad at me when I buy something in a box. He’s definitely a little sponge of knowledge. He’s taking swimming lessons this summer and doing wonderful. He’s always been scared of water that he couldn’t touch in and now he’s not phased at all. Session One ends next week and we’ll sign him up for the next two as well.

2013-05-27 12.50.12

Adam is full of spit and vinegar. He’s for sure got some sass, but as sassy as he is, he’s still cuddling all the time. Adam is very mechanical minded. He can tell when we flip the fans to move in a different direction and can tell you the differences between all the construction and farm equipment he sees. He loves to build and play farm and has finally figured out how to peddle his own bike. Adam loves to read with me as well and will sit for hours at a time and have me read just about every book we own. He’s also starting to sit with Charlie and me to read chapter books and even starting to request when/what to read. Adam wants so bad to be able to keep up with Charlie and attend swimming lessons, etc and I think the next year will bring about that change for him.

The boys play really well together 90% of the time. Wrestling, building and bike riding are the big things they like to do together. They are no longer headed to FDL with me daily to go to daycare, but just around the corner now to hang out with Sonya & her boys. This is a big switch for me since I’ve had 1.5 hours with them in the car with me every day for five years.

Steve is still working at RTR. For Christmas, the boys and I gave him an Xbox360, which he thinks is pretty cool. He read The Game of Thrones series this past year as well. The boys adore him and I couldn’t ask for a more supportive husband.

2013-04-27 15.17.28

My life…hmm. Well last fall I decided to start knitting. I’ve never even attempted it, but I figured I was tired of spending a ton of money on cute knit scarves. Steve wasn’t sure I’d actually follow through with it, but it turns out, I love to knit. It keeps my hands occupied. I knit quite a few scarves to begin with and have now started making Grandma’s Dishcloths. I love, love, love these dishcloths that my great-aunt Rosie makes and she was nice enough to share her pattern with me. I’m still reading a ton. You can see what I’m reading on my Shelfari page. I’m diving deeper and deeper into gardening and cooking from scratch. My cookbooks have started to change and my grocery carts have definitely changed. We’re not Paleo, vegan, or gluten-free, but really just incorporate more whole-wheat, fresh produce, and less sugar and no boxed foods into our diets. Now, when I’m at work, it tends to be a different story. My job last year let me stop & grab food often since I was rarely in one spot. This coming year, Charlie and I are going to make our lunches together and make sure they are healthy  (I cannot wait for the Weelicious Lunch Book to come out!). I also expanded my garden quite a bit this year, so we really should have enough fresh food to last us the year between freezing and canning it.

There you have it. Our year in recap. Now, to run errands and maybe pick some strawberries with the boys.

Leave a Reply

